Optimizing vacations

Discussion in Travel started by Gelsemium • Apr 17, 2014.

1. Gelsemium

GelsemiumWell-Known Member

Threads:
    When going on holidays do you do plenty of maths or you just pack and go? For example, do you do a calculation of how much you'd spend on gas if you go by car to see if a plane trip is viable?

2. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I've never bothered doing calculations not because they won't save me money because I'm one who loves scenery and I'm an amateur photographer. By the way, right now as I travel only within my country so it's possible to travel any place I go by car. Because of my love for photography I always drive any place I go so I can take photographs of things and places.

Sometimes, I think, you just need to give yourself a treat, regardless of how much you spend because after all, if you set money aside for travel and you use it all, it's not bad.

3. nwitt

nwittActive Member

Threads:
    Before I take a trip, we do this. But, usually we have been picking places that are only a couple of hours away so that we know it will only be gas. We'd rather spend $120 in gas then pay for both of us to fly all the way across the country. There are a lot of great vacations that are close to home if you look carefully.

4. pipps

pippsActive Member

Threads:
    Hmmm, to be honest the only vacations I take require a plane or the eurostar. I live in London so if I do travel around the UK I don't really class it as a vacation. And to be honest if I did want to go to Scotland or Ireland I would jump on a plane. The price of fuel in the UK is crazy!

5. isabbbela

isabbbelaWell-Known Member

Threads: