Missing teachers

Discussion in Toys, Kids & Baby Stuff started by Peninha • Oct 31, 2014.

1. Peninha

PeninhaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Today the teacher of my older kid is not at school and she told us that they could stay at home or, in the case they go to school (mine did) they would be redistributed for the other classes. How does it work when the teachers of your kids don't go to school?

2. clairebeautiful

clairebeautifulActive Member

Threads:
    Weird. What country do you live in?

I'm in America. We have substitute teachers. Typically a class isn't warned in advance if a teacher is going to be gone (for something like sickness) and a sub is called first thing in the morning.

On the not-so-rare occasions when a teacher cannot or does not secure a sub, the class is not dispersed to other classes - other teachers just take over for portions of the day. At least in high school. When I was a teacher and a class was without a teacher or a sub, we had to give up a third of our planning period to go cover that class. I'm not sure what elementary schools do, honestly, if a teacher has no sub. I actually wouldn't be surprised if a principal or other office worker sat in until someone could come.

3. DrRipley

DrRipleyExpert

Threads:
    I've never heard of this method before, and I'm assuming they only have one teacher for all subjects then? Here each teacher specializes in one or two subjects and if he or she is sick then a substitute will be brought in and the class would go on as scheduled. If one or two of them got sick the class would still go on because the rest of the subjects would still have teachers assigned to them.

4. JessiFox

JessiFoxActive Member

Threads: