Learning a new language

Discussion in Misc & Others started by Strykstar • Nov 25, 2014.

1. Strykstar

StrykstarActive Member

Threads:
    Have you ever had any success learning a new language only by using free online resources?
    I'm always skeptic of them since if they were good enough they would have driven the paid alternatives out of business already...
    If you had success, what website did you use?

2. lizzief79

lizzief79Active Member

Threads:
    Funnily enough, I have been writing an article on this subject today (I am a freelance writer). Studies have shown that people who study a second language in adulthood expand the size of the parts of the brain responsible for language. Personally, I haven't studied anything since school, but I know some people who have had success using online courses.

3. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You can learn a new language online. Like everything else though a positive attitude and persistence is what will help you go a long way towards learning the language you are interested in. However, though sites like Openculture.com may have comprehensive language lessons you can't learn everything on the site. You'd have to visit other sites and relevant youtube channels to add onto what you learn on the site.

That said, much as I haven't tried to learn a new language online, I know some people who've managed to. If they could, then I suppose anyone else can.

4. DancingLady

DancingLadyActive Member

Threads:
    I have not. I have tried a few online resources, but have failed miserably because of the lack of real interaction that helps gel the language in my mind. I need personal interaction to learn something that is primarily aural. It is not sufficient to learn to read a language, I need to be able to understand spoken language or I haven't really learned anything.

5. calebmelvern

calebmelvernActive Member

Threads: