Working Online and Skype

Discussion in Off Topic Discussion & General Questions started by jneanz • Dec 25, 2014.

1. jneanz

jneanzActive Member

Threads:
    I've been doing this for a few years and I like it but there are some down sides. Usually, mine are those who want work for less than what I'm charging. I don't care for interviews either but realize that if a project is supposed to go on for a while, it's only fair.

Last week, I was on a Skype interview with a prospect and out of nowhere, he tells me to turn on my camera so he can see what I look like. Most of my jobs go through oDesk and they have verified my identity. I asked why and got the most amazing answer.

He wanted to see if I was "American".

I told him that he was amazing for having such a talent. I mean, really, you can look at a person, especially someone from NY or LA (me) where race-mixing is common and people from all walks of life have a firm grasp of the English language. Some better than myself, and this is what I do for a living.

He stood firm and I politely told him where to go. I wanted to call him out for being prejudiced but decided that I wanted to get through finals and enjoy the holiday. I wanted to report him to oDesk but realized that being a bigot is not illegal.

Oh yeah, and he was one of the cheap ones.

2. Victor Leigh

Victor LeighActive Member

Threads:
    I think you should have reported him. He is paying for your work, isn't he? He isn't paying for your looks, right? Who knows what ulterior motives he had for asking you to turn on your camera. True, being a bigot is not a crime but being a pervert certainly is. I am not saying that he is a pervert but his request is the same kind that perverts make.

3. downsouth

downsouthMember

Threads: