Back to gym after a long stop

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by enell • Nov 17, 2014.

1. enell

enellMember

Threads:
    Oooh My friends!! Yes!! Finally I have the time to go back to gym again, I'm so excited! I could use some advice from you, (The Gymaholic) out there. After a long time of non working out at the gym, is there any specific exercises that I need to do or know about before I start my regular training?
    Thanks in advance for your advices.

2. calebmelvern

calebmelvernActive Member

Threads:
    It all depends on your goals. Since you are not a complete beginner, you must already have an idea of what to do and what you're trying to achieve. I assume you're going to be into strength training? If so, I would suggest doing compound exercises such as squats, deadlifts, military press and bench press. Compound exercises are so effective in building strength and mass. During your first day, don't hit it hard right away. Just determine how much you can lift for every exercise using proper form. I suggest you go for 3 sets of 5 reps each.

3. GenevB

GenevBActive Member

Threads:
    You should try an train all of your body the first few sessions. Doing a circuit, this way you'll get proper recovery for every muscle. Believe me after 2 weeks you'll be at normal, I've been in your position just a few months ago, and after the first 2 weeks I've started making good gains.

4. Gin0710

Gin0710Active Member

Threads:
    I would start with the treadmill, elliptical and upper-body workouts. Start slow and maybe even do some Yoga if it is offered at your gym. I got a two week pass so I'm going to start going to the gym too! Yay!

5. valiantx

valiantxActive Member

Threads: