Being Given Incorrect Change?

Discussion in Misc & Others started by sidney • Feb 17, 2016.

1. sidney

sidneyWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I noticed recently that I was given insufficient change twice, but I was already home when I noticed it, since I don't really count the change when they are handed to me, bad habit, I know. They were only a few cents short, so it's not much of a loss. But I'm wondering if the missing amount is quite substantial, will you be able to get the change back when you got home already? Will the cashier believe you? Has this happened to you already? If you found out that your change is insufficient, will you go back and complain or just let it be?

2. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    It's happened a few times but you have to do it there and then in front of them because there are too many scammers out there. I know when I worked in retail I would count the change back to someone as a habit to prevent this, and if people did this it would reduce the chances of being short changed.

3. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Once you leave the store and find out that you got the wrong change even if you complained later, you won't be believed. As Theo suggests, you have to count your change right there before the next customer is served.

Some stores actually require their employees to count change verbally to customers.

4. Corzhens

CorzhensWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Last month when we dined in a classy restaurant inside the mini mall, we were charged wrongly. The bill was supposed to be 1,500 but the total payable was only 1,000. It was like getting an excess change. It's a good thing that my husband had thoroughly checked the bill because he was wondering why the small amount against his estimated 1,500 or so. And it turned out h e was right on the expected amount.

5. gracer

gracerActive Member

Threads: