Best place to buy an HD TV.

Discussion in Computers, Electronics & Gadgets started by chriswild1122 • May 18, 2013.

1. chriswild1122

chriswild1122New Member

Threads:
    I'm shopping around for an HDTV and am wondering if it's a better bet to get them in store or shop around a bit online. If online is my better option can someone recommend a few sites? I've been to Newegg.com and Tigerdirect.ca but I can't say I've been bowled over by any of the deals. I'm preferably looking for places that ship to Canada as I am a Canadian resident but would be willing to ship the television to a U.S address if there was a significant price advantage. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. BlackSolaris

BlackSolarisActive Member

Threads:
    For those kinds of things, wouldn't it be better of buy at a local retail store? If anything happens to it, you can always return it without much cost. That is what i have always done with expensive hardware, even if it costs a little more.

3. chriswild1122

chriswild1122New Member

Threads:
    I suppose. I was looking for cost savings first and foremost. I can always buy an extended warranty through a friend that sells them at a discounted price should I go the online route. I've looked locally but nothing has struck my fancy nor has it meshed with my budget. I'm going to wait until the end of the summer for a Labor Day sale; I think this is the most prudent option. Thanks for your advice though! If anyone else has any opinions please share.

4. asteriks

asteriksMember

Threads:
    If you're not looking for the latest in TV technology, the Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD is going for $330 on Newegg. I bought mine about 2 years ago for about $650 and I have been quite happy with it. I have to say I am not a gamer so I don't know how it compares but it has been just fine for watching movies and dramas. You have to do your own calibration since the standard setting isn't that great but help is readily available online.

5. ozadin