Best Way To Allocate Money While Young?

Discussion in Savings & Investments Plans started by joshc428 • Oct 4, 2015.

1. joshc428

joshc428Active Member

Threads:
    Hello! I'm a college freshman who makes money mainly off of online tasks. I'm unable to get a job due to my busy schedule, but I've amassed upwards of a thousand dollars in a few months. How should I allocate finances best for the long run? I've set aside 20% for personal spending, 15% for gifts, 15% for beermoney resources (new phones and the like), 25% for short-term savings and 25% for long-term savings. How solid are my percentages? Should I allocate more into savings? If so, how much and in which section? How can I invest my money to gain interest over time? Thank you for all the advice in advance.

2. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You are saving about 50% of what you earn. That itself is great.

You could save more if you wanted to. Cut the amount of money you spend on beer and gifts. Allocate about 10% of your total earnings to beer and gifts because you'll need to reward yourself from time to time. Save the rest. It might not appear like much at the present but think of it as building a foundation. Once you get used to saving your money thusly when you get a better job you'll won't be spending more money simply because you earn more.

3. joshc428

joshc428Active Member

Threads:
    Thank you so much! I really value this input.
    And I think I'm going to cut gifts to 5% and allocate that much into "beermoney" resources. I'm not ACTUALLY buying beer with it, haha. Beermoney is just a term to describe money earned through online rewards sites such as Swagbucks and Perk. By allocating more money there, I'll be able to make more with the purchase of new phones and hardware to run money-making apps. Thank you so much!

4. xTinx

xTinxWell-Known Member

Threads: