Building a Desktop, Where Would I Start?

Discussion in Computers, Electronics & Gadgets started by CannibalCrayon • Nov 30, 2013.

1. CannibalCrayon

CannibalCrayonNew Member

Threads:
    For someone who wants to custom build their own computer, but have never done so before, what are your suggestions on where to start? Putting aside basic knowledge of motherboards, power supplies, graphics cards and other essentials, what should I be looking in to? And what websites would you recommend for comparing/buying parts?

Also, any part recommendations are welcome. I realize that it'll be a good 1-2,000 dollar project, but I want it to be fairly capable of running newer PC games as well as design/developer programs such as Photoshop, Flash and Illustrator without much strain.

2. JoeyJ

JoeyJBanned

Threads:
    Newegg.com all the way. This is the best website for hardware hands down. I've been buying from there for well over 7 years. Best prices and variety. They even have a video tutorial for choosing hardware.

[video=youtube;lPIXAtNGGCw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPIXAtNGGCw[/video]

3. avasmom

avasmomMember

Threads:
    Toms Hardware has reviews on all the components you will need.

4. orz

orzActive Member

Threads:
    It depends on where you're from, I'm going to assume you're from the US. In that case Amazon.com and Newegg are probably the best places. Don't always go for the cheapest site where you can get your parts, you are dealing with a lot of hardware components and if something does go wrong you want good customer support.

5. radishes

radishesMember

Threads: