Chinese Knockoff Phones

Discussion in Landline & Mobile Phone Networks started by Danii • Jan 30, 2015.

1. Danii

DaniiMember

Threads:
    Last year I went through the misfortune of losing my phone in the taxi twice in one month. They were both Samsung smartphones and cost quite a penny. Seeing how I am pretty much incapable of keeping a phone safe, yet I needed a smartphone to do my job, I decided to try the cheap alternative: Chinese KnockOffs.

At first I was a bit shy of buying one because of all the bad stories I had heard about them (that they break easily, some don't even start, that they use bad materials that break easily and so on). I found a trustworthy site (Dx.com) and after a lot of research, I decided on a phone, the Cubot P6, an Android device. I got it for less than $100 with shipping. I've been using it for the past seven months and I can't complain. Granted the camera isn't great, but it does its job right and everything else works like a charm.

Has anyone else had experience with Chinese KnockOff phones? Any tips or recommendations?

2. sidney

sidneyWell-Known Member

Threads:
    A friend had a China phone as how we call it over here, and he told me that it works just fine and even encouraged me to buy one. Since that was around 2010, I don't think his unit was an Android one. I think after a few months his phone was having minor issues already, but it was still usable.

3. MrsJones

MrsJonesActive Member

Threads:
    My son gave me a brand new android phone from China back in November. It looks very similar the Samsung. My first smartphone. Granted it has been working perfectly but because it is a foreign phone it doesn't help me qualify for any surveys on telecommunications. It is leaning me towards a more reputable smartphone but for now I'm good with it.

4. rightct

rightctActive Member

Threads: