Do you ever refuse to tip when you eat out?

Discussion in Stores Reviews, Comments & Complaints started by lrd913 • Oct 9, 2014.

1. lrd913

lrd913Active Member

Threads:
    I used to work as a server a few years ago and I never got stiffed but it did happen to some of the people I worked with. I've gotten low tips from cheap customers but I've never been given zero for a bill. I'm just curious if anyone has refused to tip their servers, and why?

Even if I get bad service I still give a minimum of 10% as a tip. It might be from working as a server, but I think it's how I was brought up. My mother worked as a waitress when she was younger, and so did her mother. They moved onto better jobs as they grew older but I think it sticks with you.

What about you all? Do you always tip? Do you always refuse to tip?

I don't believe in the excuse that it is "optional", but that is just me.

Thoughts?

2. Amanda K

Amanda KActive Member

Threads:
    I worked as a server for several years. To me, the tip is not optional. It is part of the expense of going out to eat. I have never had service that was so bad that I did not want to tip, either. When I was a server, the people who did not tip me- or tipped an extremely low amount- typically expected something unreasonable. When I was unable to deliver the experience they had in their head, they would not tip. There are plenty of ways to save money on going out to eat- Groupons, coupons, and choosing to dine in for lunch. The tip is one that should never be skipped unless you have service that is actually hostile. Also, be sure to plan to tip on the original amount of the bill before the coupon. The server did not do half as much work if your meal is half price.

3. vdenayb23

vdenayb23Member

Threads: