Do you still buy physical music?

Discussion in Movies, Music & Games started by Fauxpat • May 13, 2014.

1. Fauxpat

FauxpatMember

Threads:
    Piracy is as strong as ever, and the number of cheap, legal alternatives is growing almost by the day. Personally, I have a subscription to Spotify Premium, and it's more than enough for me. It's actually to the point I don't buy CDs at all anymore, as I now have access to thousands of albums right at my fingertips. And, unless the labels go back to the gimmick they tried about a decade ago- albums in surround sound or albums packed with DVDs -it's likely to stay that way. I mostly stream in my car or over my laptop, so a drop in quality is no big deal to me (besides, unless you have a high-end stereo set up, differences in fidelity are barely noticeable). I will admit, I still buy vinyl from time to time if it's cheap and/or it's something I just have to have, but that's more as a curiosity than a vehicle for listening to music.

So, how about you guys? Do you still buy physical releases?

2. pklatonja

pklatonjaNew Member

Threads:
    My dad collects music. He is a music journalist, so we have a room full of CDs and he still buys music, even the things he downloads from internet he burns them on a CD and listens to them that way. So yeah, my answer would be YES. But I personally get most of my music on the internet.

3. Nickchick

NickchickWell-Known Member

Threads:
    No, I used to buy plenty of CDs but nowadays there are so many free and cheap alternatives. CDs just aren't worth it anymore when many of the songs you tend to skip over anyway and I always listen to my Iphone in the car.

4. isabbbela

isabbbelaWell-Known Member

Threads: