Does anybody have a scrivener or similar format for Short story?

Discussion in Books, eBooks & Audio Books started by Beautyspin • Jan 9, 2015.

1. Beautyspin

BeautyspinMember

Threads:
    I am planning to write a short story and I have a plot outline and what I want to achieve with that. I have scrivener and ywriter on my pc. There are some templates that I have which help me a but since I am new to writing, I am not sure how to develop the plot. Of course use the brute force method and just keep writing and hope for the best but it would help a lot if I had a template, either scrivener or any other story boarding software or something else, which can guide me there. I know the ultimately the plot has to come from inside of me, but there must be some templates to help.

I can give an example - I am quoting from an article here, I would have posted a link but I cannot -

According to Freytag's analysis stories have five parts:
    Exposition - the character's normal life, up to the point of the "inciting incident" that pushes them into conflict.
    Rising Action - the conflicts, struggles, and pitfalls that the character faces while trying to achieve their goals. In three act structure, the second act, and usually the meatiest portion of the story.
    Climax - the most important part! The point at which all seems possible or impossible, and the character must decide whether to go for the win or take a graceful failure. The turning point of the story where the conflict comes to a head.
    Falling Action - how things unfold after the climax, the hero wins or loses, all loose ends are tied up, leading to...
    Denouement - a New Balance, normal life once again, but different (or perhaps not so different) from the "normal life" of the character's exposition.

I need some template that can implement this or any other one. Thanks in advance for any responses.

2. H.C. Heartland

H.C. HeartlandActive Member

Threads: