Does anyone have a fear of public speaking?

Discussion in Off Topic Discussion & General Questions started by thelovelyone0 • Sep 5, 2013.

1. thelovelyone0

thelovelyone0Banned

Threads:
    I have always had an issue with public speaking and I absolutely hate it. I wish that I didn't have this fear because I wold love to have become an attorney or motivational speaker. Instead, I am in college to become an elementary teacher. I know what you guys are thinking. I know that it is standing in front of a classroom and talking but for some reason I don't get nervous when I am helping a child learn. I absolutely love it! I was a preschool teacher for years and had to speak at their graduation and it wasn't a problem. My issue is with college; I hate giving a presentation in front of my peers. I hate the way they look at me and I hate the fact that the room is quite and only my voice is hard. All I'm thinking is that they are judging me. I don't know why but hopefully I will get over it since I am still in college. Do any of you have this issue?

2. kitkat0124

kitkat0124Active Member

Threads:
    I also don't like giving speech in front of many people. I think speaking in front of children is easier that in adult. The expectations are higher, their minds are different than the kids. When I was in collage if I can make ways not to stand in front of the class, I'll do it. I never overcome that attitude. Good thing my work does not require that kind of thing.

3. BlackSolaris

BlackSolarisActive Member

Threads:
    Well, i feel completely different, children are more sporadic people, so it's harder to know what to say because they are honest on if they like it or not. I was never good with public speaking, but when push comes to shove, i guess the only hard part is starting, then it's really easy.

4. Sobriety

SobrietyNew Member

Threads: