Doing the laundry

Discussion in Home & Garden started by Peninha • Apr 17, 2014.

1. Peninha

PeninhaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I think that these days no one washes their clothes by hand right? Sure, just some pieces that cannot go the the machine. So, doing the laundry in the machine do you separate your clothes or do you think that doesn't make any difference? Also, do you put the recommended dose of detergent or do you think that is too much?

2. megshoe

megshoeMember

Threads:
    That's funny, I actually still wash a lot of my clothes by hand because I'm a poor graduate student. That laundry money adds up! I wouldn't if money weren't an issue though. When I'm at home, I separate the whites, darks, and lights, and yes! It definitely makes a difference, especially with new clothing. It's very common for clothing to bleed in its first few washes.

3. Peninha

PeninhaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    OK, so I wasn't seeing this coming lol. Now that I think of it, there are places where there are community laundries and others where you need to put a coin to do it, is that your case?

4. nwitt

nwittActive Member

Threads:
    Ok, so we don't hand wash. We have washers and dryers in our unit that we have to pay to use, but I think it's worth the $12-18 a month to use the machines and not hand wash. Even if money is tight, I could find some way (ie. freelance work) to come up with an extra $20. That being said, I don't separate. I have never had an issue and sure it may happen some day, but I throw everything together. We do a weekly load to keep up with everything. Sometimes we have to do 2 loads in a week. I do use the recommended detergent.

5. Lostvalleyguy

LostvalleyguyActive Member

Threads: