Four Gift Rule For Christmas

Discussion in Toys, Kids & Baby Stuff started by prose • Nov 17, 2015.

1. prose

proseActive Member

Threads:
    Have you heard of the Four Gift Rule that some families use for their kids for Christmas? The Four Gift Rule is as follows:

1. Something they want.
    2. Something they need.
    3. Something to wear.
    4. Something to read.
    I really like the idea behind this rule, which is to take away the great amount of focus on receiving gifts on Christmas to focus more on the true meaning of Christmas. My son is too young to understand gifts this year (I think he will simply enjoy tearing in to the gifts), however I am considering using this rule in the future. Do you use this rule or a similar one for giving gifts to your kids at Christmas?

2. Krissttina Isobe

Krissttina IsobeWell-Known Member

Threads:
    :oops:Being a writer I like the list a lot. When it comes to buying gifts it's not that easy as it seems. The fun part is window shopping for gifts I'll admit it! Unless you really know the person the gift is for it's not wise to buy gifts for rule #3 though, I feel. Sometimes a gift card will do for most people because they can get what they like with all the rules. Happy Holidays!

3. steph84

steph84Active Member

Threads:
    I live by this rule too! The only thing is that my family does not like to read. I am the only reader in my family and my boyfriend's family is the opposite. They love to read! The four rules will work for them!

4. Lushlala

LushlalaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Same here, it truly is as easy as that! I have observed this rule for quite a long time and it seems to work well each time. Of course, you do also need to know the kids you're buying for. I don't have kids of my own, but we do have a lot in my family. So far, I've never noticed any one of them hating anything I've bought, so I must be doing something right :)

5. sidney

sidneyWell-Known Member

Threads: