Green thumb

Discussion in Home & Garden started by Libragirl67 • Apr 4, 2013.

1. Libragirl67

Libragirl67Active Member

Threads:
    How many of you are expert gardeners? I love to garden in the summer but I just do not have a green thumb. I do not plant vegetables. I stick mainly to plants. That I try to grow from the little seed packets. Does anyone have any pointers for me? How can I become a better gardener?

2. maddie

maddieActive Member

Threads:
    I am not an expert.. but I can tell you a few things from my experience. If by plants you mean indoor plants or flowering plants then start with plants that are easy to grow. Philodendrons, pothos, ivy etc. grow and thrive even with neglect. Another one of my favorites is the jade plant.. it is so easy to care for and there is nothing much you can do wrong if you water it only when the soil is dry. Over watering could kill any plant though.
    If you grow plants from seeds grow them in paper pots to avoid transplant shock later.
    Don't give up.. experiment could fail.. but learning from your mistakes is very important.
    Grow your herbs from kitchen wastes. Stems of mint, thyme, rosemary, basil can all be planted and grow to give you fresh herbs. keep them in a place where they get a few hours of sun everyday. Mist them everyday. Water if you see the leaves wilting. You will keep your herbs happy.

3. vpresson

vpressonWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I wish I had a green thumb my mom and aunt do I can give them a complete dead plant and they can bring it back to life within a week it's amazing wish I could but i'm bad at it lol

4. ChanellG

ChanellGActive Member

Threads: