Has anyone self taught themselves guitar?

Discussion in Off Topic Discussion & General Questions started by JosieP • Jan 16, 2014.

1. JosieP

JosiePWell-Known Member

Threads:
    My oldest son loves the guitar, but he's still new. We tried lessons for a bit, but he can't put his finger on it.. it's not for him. The lessons I mean, guitar is totally for him lol. Has anyone here self taught? I've found lots of free resources out there and I'd like to keep it free. I don't really feel like paying for something that can be learned all over the net for nothing.. I just want to see if there is more I'm missing out there. Any other tips or suggestions would be great.

2. Oakster

OaksterActive Member

Threads:
    I didn't have much success but I tried it by watching so Youtube playlists of guides, it's basically free lessons, I managed to get the basics down and it was great for that, but after some videos the difficulty ramped up and they lost me, I imagine that after the videos I would need actual lessons to progress.

3. daimashin

daimashinActive Member

Threads:
    Nope, didn't work for me. I'm a complete idiot when it comes to music. I can never remember the different types of notes what's more to actually play a musical instrument. I have success self teaching myself other things but music never worked for me.

4. JoanMcWench

JoanMcWenchActive Member

Threads:
    Yes, it works when you have the time to dedicate to it though. Things I lost in teaching myself came with musical knowledge. I can't read music for the life of me. I play with tabs when necessary or through memory.

5. ghostwheel

ghostwheelMember

Threads:
    I play the guitar but I'd say I'm not very good at it - it's fun though and the best way I found to learn was to get used to strumming the basic chords (the strings that you press in combination). Download a chord sheet for popular tunes and then follow it; you'll get better with practice.