Homemade Cough Syrup?

Discussion in Health & Beauty started by Amanda K • Oct 17, 2014.

1. Amanda K

Amanda KActive Member

Threads:
    Lately, I've seen a few recipes for homemade cough syrup like this one floating around:

I wonder if it works. Have any of you tried to make your own cough syrup? Did it work? Does it save a lot of money?

2. lrd913

lrd913Active Member

Threads:
    I've never tried to make my own cough syrup before, but I might try this out. It would be cheaper in the long run to DIY instead of buying it all the time. I usually get pretty bad colds in the Winter. I've had more sore throats than I can count at this point. Thanks for posting the link. I'm looking forward to trying this out. Hopefully it actually works.

3. askanison

askanisonMember

Threads:
    This is similar to what my Grandmother used to make during the winter for my Grandad. She would start with a honey base and add a bit of ginger, lemon juice, and chamomile to a pan and cook it for a bit. Then she would strain it into a mason jar and add a bit more honey for thickness. My Granddad swore it cured all winter ills. He secretly added a couple of spoonfuls with a bit of scotch to make it "more palatable". His words not mine. I am a firm believer in herbal remedies and this one I think works better than most.

4. akiii123

akiii123Active Member

Threads:
    I always prefer to use home made cough syrup . I love to use honey and many other spices. I also sometimes use ginger, garlic and turmeric. It depends on the severity of my cough. I also like to use ayurvedic medicine which helps me to get relief from cough.

5. chiofthenorns

chiofthenornsActive Member

Threads:
    We have an oregano plant. When we are sick, my mom makes oregano tea to cure us. It really tastes awful, but it's really effective. Anyway, oregano tea works best as a cough syrup. :)

6. Aurora

AuroraMember

Threads: