How much do you spend on groceries?

Discussion in Food & Drink started by herbalsister • Oct 24, 2013.

1. herbalsister

herbalsisterNew Member

Threads:
    Hi!

I have always wondered how much other families spend on groceries. I feel like I spend so much on groceries every month even though I really do try to cut back. I have two 6-foot tall teenage boys and a 12-year-old girl. I spend between $800 and $1000 every month just on food!

I really look forward to everyone's answers because I have really wondered this for such a long time!

Shannon

2. Inconsitency

InconsitencyNew Member

Threads:
    I spend about $150 on food a month. As for groceries, I don't really like desserts such as ice-cream or pudding and don't keep a lot of soft drinks on hand (mostly water). Rice is also a great filler, being both cheap and providing decent satiation. I'm also a university student, so I don't really need to buy a lot of groceries (I buy food most of the time). I guess you would be on the average side for an American family. Take a look at this pdf, it provides weeking grocery expenditure of families around the world

3. clairebeautiful

clairebeautifulActive Member

Threads:
    I'm glad you included ages and gender. It does make a difference.

There are five of us. Me, my over 6' husband, a 6yo girl who eats a lot, a 4yo girl who eats like a bird, and a 10mo old boy who eats as much as his 6yo sister. Hah.

I have streamlined the couponing kick to work for me with the least amount of work possible. For the record, I am NOT an extreme couponer. That said, I do use coupons, I do shop sales. We eat a lot of meat. We drink reg. milk and soy or almond milk. I primarily shop at two local grocery stores (not Walmart), CVS, and Walgreens.

For all food, paper products, all toiletries, all otc. meds, 2 sunday papers, diapers, and beer and wine we are spending an average of $85 a week. What is that a month? Less than $400 a month.

4. ohiotom76

ohiotom76Well-Known Member