How to tell if an app is safe?

Discussion in Mobile Apps & Games started by Denis Hard • Apr 29, 2014.

1. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    A friend of mine recently downloaded a free app which he thought was an anti-virus. The app continuously nagged him to pay for it every few minutes. He tried to uninstall it but could not. So, he downloaded Avast which upon installation, identified the app he thought was an anti-virus as a virus.

So how do you guys know that the app you're downloading isn't infected? Should you scan it first before installing?

2. prettycolors

prettycolorsActive Member

Threads:
    I always read reviews first, even for the free apps. I'm not technical enough to know the insides of software, so I read the opinions of those that do. Just recently, the top app in the AppStore, was an antivirus that did nothing. Yup, you read that right, it did nothing! Yet people payed (it was cheap) because of the fake reviews it had. Since then it was taken out from the store but it stands to show how gullible people really are.

3. BlacKnight1090

BlacKnight1090Member

Threads:
    Very true. Most people who have smart phones don't exactly pay too much attention to what they're doing. For some reason, people tend to just download on the spot and not do some research. It takes only a little time to get an idea of what's worth your time or dangerous. On that note, I agree with your way of analyzing an app. For one, my last two phones have come with anti-virus already activated on the phone (S4 and now S5) and it works rather well. When it comes to fake reviews, they're usually painfully auto-generated or follow an unusually high rating pattern. You'll see two things that set off a red flag:

1) Many ratings are consistently 5 stars with NO comments included.