Instant or Brewed Iced Tea?

Discussion in Food & Drink started by Zyni • Oct 5, 2014.

1. Zyni

ZyniWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I love iced tea. I could drink it all the time. I've tried instant tea and drink mixes, but I really prefer brewed tea. Do you make your own iced tea? Do you think brewed tastes better than a mix or do you deal with mixes because it's quicker and easier? What about the cost? Brewed tea often works about to cheaper than instant too.

2. ohiotom76

ohiotom76Well-Known Member

Threads:
    Yes, I've been brewing my own iced tea for a couple of years now after I stopped drinking sodas regularly. In the beginning I was buying gallons of brewed iced tea from the store, but when comparing costs, at $3 a gallon, it just wasn't worth it, when I can brew about 6 gallons of it at home for about $1.50. Plus I am not having to carry all these heavy bottles into my house.

I suppose if I really wanted to get fancy, I could filter my water first before brewing the tea and still be well under what I was paying for it already brewed. But as of right now, I just make it from tap water and it's fine. Once in a while I need to use some cleaning strength vinegar to clean out the brewer and my jug because it starts building up a heavy tea residue, but that's only like once or twice a month.

I tend to brew mine extra strong, since I'm pouring it over ice and it will get to the right dilution within a couple minutes. I will throw in two extra tea bags - 6 vs. the recommended 4 of the large size bags. Then I will squeeze them out real good at the end of brewing to get all the concentrated tea flavor out of them.

I tried the instant stuff and quickly tossed it. I don't like the filler that they put in it, dextrose I believe. It gives it a chalky taste. Also the instant tea mix doesn't have the same flavors as freshly brewed tea, it's missing the bitter tanins and slightly fruity notes of freshly brewed tea.

3. kwriter93

kwriter93Member

Threads: