Is equipment worth the money?

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by lizzief79 • Sep 12, 2014.

1. lizzief79

lizzief79Active Member

Threads:
    As a writer, I was recently asked to write quite a lengthy review about fitness equipment. 7,500 words about elliptical machines, treadmills and mountain bikes. I was absolutely staggered by the prices! Some pieces of equipment were over $12,000. I am not a fitness fanatic myself so it is not an area I have a lot of personal experience in, although in my youth I was a professional dancer. Do you think it is worth spending this amount of money on fitness equipment or do you think you can achieve the same results for free? Is running on a treadmill that cost thousands of dollars in some way better than running on mixed terrain outdoors?

2. orz

orzActive Member

Threads:
    It really depends on your goals, I have a free weights gym setup which wasn't too costly although it really depends. A gym membership would definitely be cheaper on the short-term regardless of franchise however on the long-term the dedicated gym setup definitely will pay itself off after a few years. In my opinion the privacy and freedom to work out whenever I want is also worth the price.

3. lizzief79

lizzief79Active Member

Threads:
    I think it is a good point you make here about privacy and freedom to work out whenever you want. I suppose that if you are enthusiastic about fitness and will use the equipment a lot, it would pay off over the years. It was the shock of seeing the prices! Having never bought any such equipment myself, I was staggered at the cost.

4. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads: