Lapse In Auto Insurance Costs...

Discussion in Auto Insurance started by MrsJones • Mar 2, 2016.

1. MrsJones

MrsJonesActive Member

Threads:
    I am new to the ins and outs of having auto insurance. And for those who are like me you want to know enough to make an informed decision.

In my quest to find out as much as I can about auto insurance I have learned that if your policy has lapsed for whatever reason that it costs more when you get a new policy. With that said if you are looking to switch insurance agencies it is beneficial to switch while your current policy is still active.

If you find that you need to switch for financial reasons to reduce costs, go over the coverage details to find out where you can save e.g. increasing your deductible or decreasing the medical coverage even eliminate the car rental option, these items can be restored when you find your finances in a much more viable state.

Doing this will keep your status with your current agency intact to receive any future discounts that you may be entitled to for being a loyal customer.

2. Ke Gordon

Ke GordonWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Yes, they always charge more if your previous policy has lapsed. I have such a good rate now, with Geico that I always pay my insurance. It is dirt cheap. There is a company here called the Insurance Doctor they claim they can save you money on your insurance or they will buy you dinner..as long as it is not McDonalds...or some fast food place, I would be willing to try it to see what would happen!

3. remnant

remnantActive Member

Threads: