Public transportation

Discussion in Auto & Moto started by Gelsemium • Mar 22, 2014.

1. Gelsemium

GelsemiumWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Everyone says that it's cheaper to ride public transportations, but I don't know if that is true in my country because the prices are really very high here. Is it the same situation where you live or does it still pay off to ride the public transportations rather than a car?

2. Eagle910

Eagle910Active Member

Threads:
    I think public transportation is worth if your job is very far from where you live. I have experienced this. I lived across town from job. It use to cost me $10 a da in gas to commute to work. $5 to get there, and $5 to make it home. I started riding the city bus, and that $10 turned in to $2.

3. mnicole

mnicoleMember

Threads:
    when i was younger and in middle school and high school it was more ideal to use public transportation to get back and forth to school. now that i'm older its more convenient for me just to use my car cause there's no bus stops where i work and the price i pay to ride the bus i can just use for gas in my car.

4. Lostvalleyguy

LostvalleyguyActive Member

Threads:
    Sometimes it does make more sense to drive than it does to take public transit, but most people don't look at the big picture.

Transit: There is the cost of bus fare, but if you choose to take transit regularly, the cost us frequently less because you get a pass. How convenient is it? If you need to walk thirty minutes to get to the bus, or it runs so infrequently that you would end up waiting, it probably isn't worthwhile. At some point you will probably go somewhere outside of your transit system, and that has to be factored into your transportation costs.