Puppy Training Pads

Discussion in Pets started by FlanneryCam • Sep 1, 2012.

1. FlanneryCam

FlanneryCamActive Member

Threads:
    Do you use puppy training pads? Are they really important or are they just a waste of money?

I'm fostering a 5 week old puppy for my local humane society and I want to get her started on puppy training right away. But I don't know how to train a puppy that young. I thought puppy pads might be a good go, but they will get quite expensive.

2. Victor Leigh

Victor LeighActive Member

Threads:
    Little dogs are like little kids. They usually have to go after a meal and on waking up. So after a meal and on waking up, take the puppy to wherever you want to teach it to do its business. After a few days, the puppy would get the idea that that place is the right place to do its business.

3. dissn_it

dissn_itActive Member

Threads:
    I have never used the training pads before. I agree with Victor, taking the puppy outside after meals and waking up is the best way to train them. At 5 weeks old, you will probably have a few accidents so I would be firm but gentle on any punishment. Just try to be consistent with your routines and the accidents will become fewer and farther inbetween. Good luck with your pup!

4. Amcotts

AmcottsNew Member

Threads:
    Well, its a really nice idea but I believe on nature and try to implement nature in all aspects of the life.
    But I'm not sure about the advantages of the these artificial stuff. I make my dog run, swim, gymnastic and
    fun with food. He is quite decent and I'm glad with him.
    But I'm interested in this stuff. Would you like to share more about it. regards

#4Sep 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2015
  5. sandooch

sandoochActive Member

Threads: