Renting a room to students

Discussion in Home & Garden started by Peninha • Mar 6, 2014.

1. Peninha

PeninhaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    My grandmother rented a room to students for many years and that was a great source of income for her. Apart from the income she enjoyed the company of a younger person, so it was win win for her. Would you consider renting a room to students to make some extra money?

2. Dora M

Dora MWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Definitely. I just posted a thread about the travellers I have been housing for a few years now. I have also had students staying with me from time to time, usually no longer than a couple of months. I enjoyed their company. Also it was nice to have a really quiet house for a change, as most of them would spend their time studying or sleeping.
    I really liked cooking meals with them, taking them with my car around the region and showing them some special places. But these days I prefer travellers as they pay me more. :)

3. Jessi

Jessi<a href="http://www.quirkycookery.com">QuirkyCooke

Threads:
    If I had the room, sure. It could potentially cause problems if the person wasn't respectful or honest, but I think most people who are renting single rooms off-campus aren't the ones looking for trouble usually either.

4. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    It doesn't have to be students. When I was younger my parents rented out a number of rooms to a medium. I didn't like the lady but she paid good money so well . . .

I think if you have that spare room, it's best to make it generate some extra $$$$ for you.

5. mikelouis

mikelouisActive Member

Threads: