Should I Write A Formal Complaint In This Case?

Discussion in Stores Reviews, Comments & Complaints started by Colebra • Aug 18, 2015.

1. Colebra

ColebraActive Member

Threads:
    First of all, let me just start by saying that I work in customer service, so I know that it's impossible to be Mr. Smiley-Smile all day long.
    Human's are going to be Human, and so, during the course of the day someone's going to feel like you didn't do enough, were rude, or something. It's inevitable.

But this just ticked me the wrong way...

Just came from the gym, and stopped by the supermarket.
    They were closing.
    Some lady was shutting the doors.
    I asked, in a very polite way, "Don't you guys close at 9?"
    I was literally just checking their hours so I wouldn't waste my time again next day...
    Lady come back with: "Yeah, but we close when it's 9 on our watches. Not yours."

What do you guys think?

2. jneanz

jneanzActive Member

Threads:
    That was the wrong response on her part. If you got her name or a good description, she should be reported to HQ for that response. However, it is protocol to begin shutting down 15-20 minutes prior to actual close. If there are few or no customers inside, then this means the faster everyone can get out. Where I used to live, there was a grocer that would begin shutting down about 30 mins before but someone would always come in 5-10 minutes before and SHOP. Like 15-20 items and they would be down to one cashier who would handle the latecomers.

3. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You don't say what time you got there, but if it was less than half an hour before closing, most stores do shut the doors unless it is a big store. Some stores don't and let people in regardless, but her response was sarcastic, however I would not bother as it's your word against hers and it sounds like a local mini-mart so just don't shop there.