Solar Power?

Discussion in Utilities started by joshc428 • Sep 6, 2015.

1. joshc428

joshc428Active Member

Threads:
    I'm a college student, so perhaps I'm thinking too far ahead. But when I get my own house, I'm really considering getting solar powered electricity. I know the startup costs are insane, but I heard that you save money in the long run. Is this a good idea? Anyone have experiences with this? Hopefully technological advances and environmental awareness allow cheaper solar power in the near future.

2. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Solar power certainly is cheaper in the long run. Researchers are working on creating solar panels which can store up solar energy for release at night. When they get their breakthrough though initially these solar panels might be somewhat expensive after a while they prices will start dropping . . .

. . . and there's also Tesla's solar battery which will be a game changer.

3. BrandonScooterman

BrandonScootermanActive Member

Threads:
    Right now solar isn't worth it, unless you live in an area with some sort of incentive program.
    Installing and maintaining a solar setup costs significantly more then just buying from the grid.
    But some places offer subsidies to make it worth while.
    Here in Ontario we have microFIT, which pays you a premium amount when you sell power back to the grid.
    Check out what programs they have in your area.

4. gata montes

gata montesActive Member

Threads:
    Even though Solar technology has come a long way and is likely to carry on doing so well into the future - its currently not worth the huge expense - as although it does on the surface appear to be a very cost effective means of providing energy to your home - the reality of making savings in the future are not quite as rosy as they seem.