To Exercise With A Partner Or Alone?

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by 003 • Sep 14, 2015.

1. 003

003Well-Known Member

Threads:
    I have been exercising alone for 6 years. Everyday that I run, I am alone. There was a period though that I used to go out with a friend. But because she's got no regard of time, especially of mine - that I am always running hard after it, I decided to drop her out of my sched and just exercise as I did before - that is alone. The thing is if you have someone to accompany you, you are less freer, but at the same time you are more committed and could be more motivated too, especially if you aren't used to being alone to exercise, especially if you are still just a beginner.

2. watsadamen

watsadamenMember

Threads:
    This would highly depend on the exercise I am going to do. If it can be done with a group like yoga or Zumba classes then I have no qualms doing the exercise with other people. But for exercises like walking or running, I prefer doing it alone rather than with a partner or a group of people. I like to exercise on my own pace. Also, I like to concentrate. Being with other people can be distracting for me.

3. LeopardJones

LeopardJonesActive Member

Threads:
    We think along similar lines. I’ve come to love group classes, but power-walking/jogging with a partner never really appealed to me. I wouldn’t enjoy it if my potential partner’s pace didn’t match mine. It would make me lose too much of my focus. I can see the accountability benefits of having a workout partner, but I find that’s where classes fill my needs.

4. Corzhens

CorzhensWell-Known Member

Threads: