Washing (yourself) in cold water.

Discussion in Health & Beauty started by Lostvalleyguy • Apr 28, 2014.

1. Lostvalleyguy

LostvalleyguyActive Member

Threads:
    I have heard that bathing in cooler water is great for the skin and hair. I have some experience with this up at a lake where the lake is the place to bathe and it is always brisk to refreshing and never warm. I do find that after a few days, the hair does seen a little softer and seems to stay cleaner (less oily) than in the city. I haven't noticed a difference with the skin however.

Has anyone heard that cold water is better for bathing the body and if so, has anyone tried it? I am wondering if a few degrees makes any difference as I don't think a cold shower in the winter would be my thing.

2. Sweetkymom

SweetkymomActive Member

Threads:
    Cold water is in fact better on your skin. Cold water doesn't dry out your skin whereas hot water does. I have a cold water bath that uses milk that I use every few months. Milk and cold water simply helps your skin unbelievably.

3. nwitt

nwittActive Member

Threads:
    This makes sense, but I've never really tried it! I have shower with cooler water if I was really sick or after a really long run, but usually get cold after a while and have to change the water to a warmer temperature. I guess I will consider this when washing my face :)

4. BlacKnight1090

BlacKnight1090Member

Threads:
    I'm the same way. I'm honestly not a fan of cold showers at all. Though I have been through many days when I was extremely hot and needed to cool down. I'd start off with the water cool to nearly warm to get a little chill on my body and then slowly bring up the temperature once I feel normal again. I think it's cool if cold baths/showers are good for the body, but I'm not looking to do it. o.o I know several people who also do milk baths, but it never crossed my mind and it's not for me.

5. sidney

sidneyWell-Known Member

Threads: