What are the best ways to avoid student loan debt?

Discussion in Loans started by laceiron • Jul 28, 2012.

1. laceiron

laceironNew Member

Threads:
    Hi, I'm a college sophomore and I am terrified of being buried in debt. So far, I'm doing okay, I have about 7,000 worth of loans to worry about. But I'm sure as tuition rises and the economy gets worse things will get worse, and I'm fairly certain that if I go the way I'm going I'll have more than 40,000 worth of debt. How have you guys helped pay for college while in college? Any suggestions are highly appreciated. :)

2. savergrl

savergrlMember

Threads:
    There's a few ways to go about it.

1. Reduce your spending now. Can you move to a smaller place, budget your spending better, drop extras such as cell plans or cable? The less you spend now the more money you can save to pay for next semester.

2. Many people reduce their load in school and work full time to pay for it.

3. Some colleges charge the same no matter how many classes you take. You could pile on as many classes as you can handle and reduce your time in college that way. Graduating even a semester early will save you big bucks.

Honestly, the only way to get away from having student loans is to make more and spend less so you can pay out of pocket instead of with loans.

3. marvelz

marvelzActive Member

Threads:
    Open an affiliate account on amazon and clickbank and sell products for them. Write articles online and get paid for your service. Open an account on fiverr.com and make a gig you can sell for $5 a time. If you get 10 orders a day, that's an extra $350 in your pocket every week. Make something and sell it on ebay. Write an ebook and sell it on amazon. Hope these help!!

4. Jessi

Jessi<a href="http://www.quirkycookery.com">QuirkyCooke

Threads:
    Get scholarships. They're harder to find now, but they still exist.

Apply for FAFSA early and every year. The aid is amazing.