What do you use your credit card rewards for?

Discussion in Credit Cards started by smlewis00 • Jan 6, 2014.

1. smlewis00

smlewis00Member

Threads:
    Many credit cards offer reward points. For example, I have a Mastercard credit card. I earn points for every dollar I spend on my credit card. I think I receive 4 points for every $1 spent on the card. I can then use those points to redeems them for gifts, gift cards, or cash. The list is endless of the rewards you could redeem your points for. You can use them for appliances, books, office supplies, tools, pets and even give them as a donation.
    What do you use your credit card rewards for? What do you think are the best value to spend them on?
    I usually redeem my credit card points for gift cards to resturaunts. I then save them and use them for date nights or for when my family is traveling. It is roughly 11,500 points to redeem a $25 resturaunt gift card.
    I wondered if it would be worth it to save my points up and redeem them for an appliance. Currently, you can redeem 265,000 points for a Dyson vacuum.
    Is it a better deal to save up your points for a big purchase like the vacuum or use the points for smaller purchases like gift cards?
    What do you use your credit card rewards for?

2. jtucci21

jtucci21Member

Threads:
    Wow, I can't believe you haven't gotten any responses! For my cards I calculate each card's per point value. So for instance, while your car is 11,500 for a $25 restaurant gift card, my card is 2,500 points for a $25 gift card. However, you get 4 points per dollar where as I get 1 point per dollar (on regular purchases). So actually, your card takes $2,875 to get to a $25 gift card whereas mine takes $2,500 to get to the same gift card. (I have a Wells Fargo Visa Platinum incase you're wondering).