Do You Shine Your Shoes?

Discussion in Fashion & Apparel started by Alexandoy • Dec 15, 2016.

1. Alexandoy

AlexandoyWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I used to have my shoes shined by a shoeshine boy who comes here twice a month. But when my wife suggested that I buy a shoe shine kit, I thought hard about it. It is the income of the boy that matters more than what I can save. Fortunately, the boy had moved residence to another province and I am left with my own devices. So I have been shining my shoes for many years now with the use of the shoe shine kit. Think of the money I have been saving from that.

2. TheKnight

TheKnightActive Member

Threads:
    I don't use a shoe shine kit. All I do is buy a tin polish container and use any sort of soft towel. What I do is dampen the towel then smear some polish on it. Put your finger in the towel and firmly make circles around your shoe for about five minutes with your finger and cloth. After that, grab a clean longer cloth and grab the opposite sides of the cloth. Then rub the entire front of the shoe by moving the cloth side to side quickly. That's the way I was taught in military school. It works fairly well.

3. Jasmin Cottontail

Jasmin CottontailActive Member

Threads:
    I don't actually shine my shoes, I just simply wipe it with soft cloth for it to look clean. But I do shine my shoes before. However, now I don't probably I get too lazy and I think one reason is that I normally use sandals whenever I go out and they don't need to be polished since I only have to wipe the dust from them and they're good to go :)

4. tonyb

tonybActive Member

Threads:
    I shine my shoes myself. I can hardly get a shoe shiner or cobbler near me. The best bet for me was to get shoe shining kits and use it myself. Everyday before I wear my shoes to work I ensure they are properly shined.

5. janemariesayed

janemariesayedActive Member

Threads: