Are Smaller Banks Better Than Bigger Banks

Discussion in Bank Accounts started by Denis Hard • Sep 4, 2014.

1. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    It's assumed that in order for small banks to compete against bigger banks they among other things have to:

-provide better services.
    -charge lower fees for their services and so on.

Most people though, prefer bigger banks because they believe their money is safer there.

I'm yet to confirm whether smaller banks are better in all ways but I'd like to hear from you guys. Is it really true that smaller banks are much better than huge banks?

2. DancingLady

DancingLadyActive Member

Threads:
    My experience is that smaller banks are better. For one thing, the regional bank I am with now has far superior customer service to Band of America, which I left as soon as I was able. My parents set me up with Bank of America when I left for college, so I didn't really have a choice until I graduated and got a job, but B of A really had the worst customer service. Even though I came in to do business like an adult, they always treated me like a child who has no clue what they are doing, even though I totally knew what I was doing. I really didn't like that. I also prefer how regional banks invest in your local area, so your money isn't just going into some pool all over the country. Local focus is a big thing to me because there is more accountability that way.

3. eppie

eppieActive Member

Threads:
    In my experience and from where I'm coming from, smaller banks offer higher interest rates on savings account. Also, smaller banks tend to be more lax when it comes to loan approvals and require less documents. However, my concern regarding smaller banks is stability as there's always a risk that it will close down sooner or later if not managed well.