Can You Build Up A Resistance To Products?

Discussion in Off Topic Discussion & General Questions started by Pat • Oct 4, 2012.

1. Pat

PatWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Do you stockpile lotions and shampoos to save money when on sale, you might be wise to reconsider this practice. Over time, exposure to light can reduce their efficacy. The ingredients can start to degrade after the use-by date has passed. Your once magical lotion or shampoo starts to lose its magic.

2. MeliciousMona

MeliciousMonaNew Member

Threads:
    This is an interesting question. I asked my esthetician the same question in regards to my facial products. I have been using the same skincare line for almost 4 years and my skin is not so magical anymore. Her response was that she typically doesn't stay with the same products for long enough. using a bottle and switching depending on what her needs are. Which I guess is alright, if you have access to all those products all the time...As for me I have to make a special plan to switch.

My hairdresser on the other hand always recommends to me the same product. And at the change of season time, she supplements with a few targeted treatments. I trust both of these ladies. But I also think variety is the spice of life. So if something isn't working it's magic anymore- feel free to switch it out. You can always rotate between a few magical products:)

3. leyash

leyashActive Member

Threads:
    I believe you can build up a resistance to products. The more you use them, the more your body gets used to them. Thus, you build up a resistance.

4. Parker

ParkerWell-Known Member

Threads:
    There seems to be two issues in this thread. Products losing their efficacy over time and building up resistance to products. I was told as a kid that you can build up resistance to body deodorant therefore you should alternate. I have no idea if this is true, but I still do it to this day. I never buy the same deodorant after I just finished using it.