Duplicate channels with Comcast?

Discussion in Digital & Web TV started by Mayvin • Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Mayvin

    MayvinActive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Threads:
    142
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just relocated to a new state and where I was before I never noticed duplicate channels or channels that were high like 38 and 867 being the same station lol. Thought that was really weird. Wondering if anyone else has duplicate channels like that on Comcast.
     
  2. Fauxpat

    FauxpatMember

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Threads:
    19
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have cable, but I've noticed odd things like that on other people's cable and satellite packages. For instance, say you notice you have two Cartoon Networks. One's an East Coast feed and one's a West Coast feed. I guess I get it, if you've missed a show by less than an hour, but other than that it seems completely unnecessary. Not only that, but if you want HD, sometimes you have to get both HD and standard definition. Then all the HD channels start at a ridiculously high number. Just more and more ways for them to make more money.
     
  3. Mayvin

    MayvinActive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Threads:
    142
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    10
    I've never noticed the duplicate channels in the previous state I lived in and that is strange how you mentioned about the two cartoon network channels one with west coast and the other with east coast time. I don't get how they would do that, although it could be convinent for other shows if you missed it. But that's what Tivo is for to record it. It's strange! Don't completely get how they would make more money from it but it probably is a more money making ploy somehow.
     
  4. ACSAPA

    ACSAPAWell-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Threads:
    52
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    240
    I have Cartoon Network east and west on DirectTV, and it has come in handy on more than one occasion. When I fell asleep and missed Attack on Titan, all I had to do was wait another for hours for Cartoon Network west to show it.

    Cartoon Network duplicates don't bother me. It's all the other unwanted channels like CNN and Golf Channel that bother me. If cable companies offered an A La Carte package where you only paid for channels you wanted, I would only have 20 channels. Most people don't need or want all the channels that they get stuck with.
     
  5. Nickchick

    NickchickWell-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Threads:
    8
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    34
    I don't think I have duplicate Cartoon Network (maybe I'm missing something?) but I do have duplicate Nickelodeon. On the rare occasion, I have watched it. It has helped because I have missed a show or two and you forget about it so DVR doesn't always help especially since I was going to DVR it anyway.
    Even though I don't use it that much, I agree that I'd much rather have it than many of the other channels. It probably wouldn't be that much either for me. I hate sports news and evangelists so all those channels can go away.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Duplicate channels ComcastForumDate
Comcast DVRs up to $19 US per monthDigital & Web TVOct 31, 2014
Cancelling channelsDigital & Web TVMar 28, 2014
How many channels are enough?Digital & Web TVAug 7, 2012
Favorite Roku Channels?Digital & Web TVJun 28, 2012
comcast cable pricesDigital & Web TVJun 22, 2012