Electric bikes and scooters

Discussion in Auto & Moto started by Dora M • Mar 14, 2014.

1. Dora M

Dora MWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I have been using an electric bike for 6 years now. It's an older model and has got a couple of rather heavy batteries, but it has been going and going. I have been using the electric power as a back-up to get up really steep hills and also when I am transporting a lot of groceries back to my house. It has almost completely replaced the car for me. It goes around 30km/h at its fastest and I can use it for many hours before I have to recharge the batteries. Electric bikes and scooters are becoming quite common here now and getting ever more sophisticated. Would you buy one?

2. Lostvalleyguy

LostvalleyguyActive Member

Threads:
    Electric bikes and scooters are becoming very popular in our city, but they are also creating a few problems. I am a purist when it comes to cycling, so no scooter for me. As a means of commuting to and from work they provide an opportunity to be environmentally responsible and one can arrive in a timely fashion without being coated in sweat. Our problems arise from the definition of bike vs. motorcycle. Scooters are often seen using the bike lanes and as most of them are under power when operated, they tend to travel too fast for the bike lanes. Some are licensed as vehicles and are supposed to stay on the road surface, others are not. While they are increasing in popularity, without clear rules, scooters are too hazardous.

3. mikelouis

mikelouisActive Member

Threads:
    It depends on the practicability. If you are going to cover long distances, then am sure using other methods will be much fun rather than using a scooter or a bike. but if it is just around town and you want to snake through traffic, then a scooter will be so much easy to use. personally I would not buy it as there is no use for it in my life.

4. Jason76

Jason76Active Member

Threads: