Getting And Staying Healthy In 2016

Discussion in Food & Drink started by Diane Lane • Jan 11, 2016.

1. Diane Lane

Diane LaneWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I've been checking into probiotics, since I have some health issues. I'd like to make 2016 a healthier year, but probiotics are very expensive, especially for those of us on restricted budgets. Additionally, I am not interested in buying and ingesting products that might be full of extra ingredients and preservatives. Since I have enjoyed making Ricotta Cheese, I am considering purchasing some Kefir Grains and trying to make my own Kefir, which is a probiotic yogurt-type drink. I've never tried Kefir before, and have only recently heard of it, but it seems inexpensive enough to purchase some grains and easy enough to try making a batch. I know I respond positively to probiotics, so I think it's worth a shot.

Does anyone here make Kefir? If not, have you tried it and have an opinion one way or the other?

2. jneanz

jneanzActive Member

Threads:
    One hidden treasure is chobani simply 100. It has probiotic properties and doesn't taste like sugar. It can also be filling for such a small container of yogurt.

3. Corzhens

CorzhensWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I like the title of this thread. Staying healthy is the best idea for new year. However, I do not want to jeopardize my lifestyle so I am taking it slowly. My first step is the exercise although I had started dieting this week, no rice and more of vegetables and fruits. With the exercise, I promised to do it every morning before dressing up for work. And staying late at night is a taboo.

4. Happyflowerlady

HappyflowerladyWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I have been making my own kefir for several months now, and I think that the extra probiotics in the kefir are definitely a benefit to me. I even give some to the dogs, and it is supposed to be very healthy for pets, too.