Have You Ever Tried To Write A Book?

Discussion in Books, eBooks & Audio Books started by NikkiDesrosiers • Nov 1, 2014.

1. NikkiDesrosiers

NikkiDesrosiersActive Member

Threads:
    I am a freelance writer and while I specialize in non-fiction articles but I have always wanted to write a fiction novel. I have tried several times, get a few chapters in and then completely scratch the whole project because it doesn't seem to be coming along the way I would like. Has anyone else had this problem?

2. Rhoda D'ettore

Rhoda D'ettoreMember

Threads:
    I have written several books available as paperback, ebook, and audiobooks.

Some people have to use outlines. For me, I need to just write chapter by chapter. Always inject an "ah ha!" type of moment in your chapters, because that is why keeps people reading. Try to shock or put twists. I killed off a character in my book, Tower of Tears, but I had not decided who the kiler was. I give my chapters to my mother to read as I write them. Five characters hated the victim, so I just continued with the story and figured I would decide who the killer was later. My mom got halfway through the book and said, "I know who did it!" I didn't, so I was shocked. Then I made it a character she did not name. People who read the book thought it was great.

My suggestion, add things you know. Visualize the characters as people in your life. It is easier to describe someone who already exists. Pull from your own experiences or family history. My one novel is about Nazi Germany and the changing society. It is loosely based on my real family, then I threw in some spies and murders, and Bam! Then next thing I knew, my book reached the amazon top thrillers list-- it was only five away from James Patterson! I have a picture of it! I might never sell another book, but I have that picture. That is good enough for me!

3. Radix24

Radix24Active Member

Threads: