How Do You Save Money On Herbs?

Discussion in Food & Drink started by Denis Hard • Jul 1, 2015.

1. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You could plant herbs in pots, gardens, etc — definitely great ways to save some money — but supposing you've bought more herbs than you'll use before they spoil, what's the best way to preserve them so they'll still be usable? Ensuring they retain their flavor, aroma, etc?

I've heard that dried herbs taste different?

2. deansaliba

deansalibaActive Member

Threads:
    I'm no expert (I've recently started growing herbs in my garden), but surely you can dry them and put them in jars, just like the jars of herbs you already buy in the supermarket?

3. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You can preserve them in several ways; freezing them, use them to make sauces or add them to make infused flavored oils. That way it retains the essence of the herbs as well.

Dried herbs are very useful and while they do differ in taste (only slightly) they are still cheaper to use. Basil is a great one or rocket (arugula) where you can use them to make pesto sauces that will keep well.

4. cocolgooh

cocolgoohActive Member

Threads:
    I personally do grow my own herbs anyway, but supposing I'd picked too much, I'll generally leave it to dry or if I've really picked too much I'll freeze it. I've also included them in sauces I make and jar up as well sometimes for something a little different.

Depending on the herb and what you like and how much you have to use up, you can also chop them up and add them to plain crisps/potato chips for an added bit of flavour if you like that sort of thing.

5. ohiotom76

ohiotom76Well-Known Member

Threads: