Laptop Purchasing Advice

Discussion in Computers, Electronics & Gadgets started by DrRipley • Feb 24, 2015.

1. DrRipley

DrRipleyExpert

Threads:
    I'm in need of a new laptop within the next month and unfortunately I only have around $350 set aside for it. The problem is that most laptops being sold here for that price look a bit too basic and I'm afraid it won't be enough for my needs because I work as a graphic designer and have to work with multimedia so I'll be needing to install a few Adobe programs for graphic and video editing as well as a few more programs to produce and edit music.

It will be used solely for those programs though and I'm not planning on keeping any other big files there than necessary so I'm hoping it would be sufficient.

That said, right now I'm looking at maybe getting an Asus X453MA with the following specs:

• Operating System: Windows 8.1
    • Screen Size: 14.0" Auto HD (1366x768)
    • Processor: Intel Bay Trail-M Dual Core Celeron N2830 2.16GHz
    • Memory: 2GB DDR3
    • Storage: 500GB HDD 5400 RPM
    • Connectivity: Integrated 802.11 b/g/n 10/100 Base T Bt 4.0 support
    • Camera: VGA Web Camera
    • Battery: 2Cells 30 Whrs
    It's priced exactly within my budget, but I'm hoping to get advice here before I make my decision.

Do you think I should just look into other alternatives such as buying a used laptop with higher specs for roughly the same price or should I just save up more and just get a better brand new one? I really need one as soon as possible so the second option isn't too viable but if it's really the best way to go then I may just have to figure it out.

2. Nikole

NikoleMember

Threads:
    I just bought a laptop last week. I saved a good deal of money by going the Ebay route (choosing a reputable seller) and purchased a new, but open-box, laptop. I spent $399 (I know this is a little over your budget, but I feel it was a good deal) and here are the stats:

Dell Inspiron 15.6" screen
    8GB ram