Need an EASY to care for indoor plant (or plants)?

Discussion in Home & Garden started by jemshko • May 27, 2012.

1. jemshko

jemshkoBanned

Threads:
    I have an alcove above the powder room in the entry way to my home. I would like to put some potted plants there. I'm no green thumb and this area is somewhat difficult to reach except for watering. I don't want to be climbing up there daily or anything!

Any suggestions on easy to grow, and care for plants that don't require much direct sunlight?

#1May 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  2. Andrea4

Andrea4Member

Threads:
    I am by no means an expert, but I have read before that peace lily's are good for cleaning the air, they filter it, so that might be do double duty for you. I don't know how often they are watered (I have a brown thumb, sorry!) but you can always get one of those self watering bulb things to stick in the pot. You won't have to climb up there as often for watering. Then there is always the silk flowers option too...that is my favorite, I can keep those alive. :D

3. Jennifer

JenniferActive Member

Threads:
    lol - my mum also buys the artifical flowers and puts them in her pots. When she goes away on holiday I am always given the task of watering her plants. I have to admit I really have to look very carefully to tell the difference between the real and artificial flowers, they are so lifelike. So maybe you should consider them. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful. These fingers ain't green.

4. Mrs. Rogers

Mrs. RogersActive Member

Threads:
    I second peace lilys. I have one that I rarely water (blushing) and it still looks great. I've had it since 2008 and it's still putting along. I water it like once every two weeks.....mental note to do better!

5. Pat

PatWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I also go for the peace plant. My daughter was given one at her house warming party. She doesn't have a green thumb but she managed to keep the plant alive for more than a year.

6. dissn_it