Need your advice-Chromebook or Widows notebook?

Discussion in Computers, Electronics & Gadgets started by Timetrvlr • Oct 6, 2014.

1. Timetrvlr

TimetrvlrMember

Threads:
    My old Windows 7 desktop is failing fast so I'm planning to replace it soon. I'm not a gamer nor am I concerned about business productivity (I'm retired). I use my computer strictly for my own entertainment, checking various message boards, checking my mail, checking the news, and writing short stories and sometimes posting them. Occasionally I print out something and I take a few pictures and need a photo editor but I use Picasa 3 which is from Google. I'd prefer to spend from $200-$400, no more.

I've always used Windows but I've never been happy because it seems to be a continuing learning experience, I'm not very good at that anymore. The question is, If I buy a Chromebook, will I be missing anything that I can do now with Windows? Your thoughts will be appreciated.:D

2. chiofthenorns

chiofthenornsActive Member

Threads:
    I have a Chromebook. I am not a heavy computer user, so I am happy with it. I use it every day to check my social media accounts and email. However, if you are a heavy computer user meaning that you use your computer in many ways other than browsing the Internet, then I suggest that you get a Windows netbook. Many people think that the Chromebook is like Windows, but it isn't. It's more like an Android tablet in the shape of a laptop. You can't install .exe files here. Also, you need to be connected to the Internet all the time.

3. DancingLady

DancingLadyActive Member

Threads: