Tips for Buying a Shelter Cat

Discussion in Pets started by jneanz • Aug 17, 2014.

1. jneanz

jneanzActive Member

Threads:
    Last month, I got a cat from the shelter with disastrous results. It wasn't like one of those cat from hell episodes but the cat did have fits, or seizures, where she tended to get violent. I'm recovering from illness and can't afford a cat scratch.

Some people said that a kitten would have been better but I think an older cat would have been better. My old cat was two and seemed to have some mental trauma.

I would still like to get another cat but right now don't have the money for a full breed or exotic cat with a docile personality. Is this just a gamble when a person gets cats from the shelter?

2. isabbbela

isabbbelaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    Well first of all, if it's a shelter cat you would adopt it, not buy it :)
    I worked as a volunteer in a shelter before, and there are some cats they will say are very sweet and docile, but I was scratched by one or two. The truth is they get pretty stressed out in their cages all day on the shelter and it takes a while for them to get used to a new life with a new person. My tip is to be honest with the shelter volunteer that helps you: tell them you tried adopting a cat before but it seemed to have a trauma and got violent sometimes, that you were ill and need a very sweet tempered cat and if they could suggest the perfect cat for you to adopt. Also, go really slow with your new cat. Don't overdo anything. Pet it when it seems relaxed, try petting them and feeding them so that it recognizes petting as a good thing, and never get too close when they seem tense. Give it some space until it gets used to you, the new environment, the new house. Cats will warm up to you quickly if they have a sweet nature, but be patient and give them some space so they never feel threatened.

#2Aug 17, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
  3. Mayvin

MayvinActive Member

Threads: