What Do You Do With All Your Gift Bags?

Discussion in Gifts & Flowers started by purplepen88 • Nov 13, 2015.

1. purplepen88

purplepen88Active Member

Threads:
    I find that after certain big events like a wedding, baby shower or Christmas you are left with a ridiculous amount of gift bags. They have been used once and then what? When I had my first son I must have received over 30 gift bags that were all perfectly good. I don't think I'll be able to reuse that many baby bags. I'm also a teacher so at Christmas I get 10-20 gift from my students usually in pretty gift bags. It seems a shame to throw them away or recycle them. I keep them in a closet to reuses them but I find my collection just keeps growing. What do you do with them?

2. Lushlala

LushlalaWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I do exactly what you do, keep them in a cupboard. From time to time, I'm able to recycle them them and use them for gifts I'm giving friends and family. -especially if I struggle to find one that I like in stores. Of course, the trick is in ensuring that you don't use it on the person who previously gave it to you LOL That would be embarrassing.

3. prose

proseActive Member

Threads:
    I keep all of the gift bags I receive if they make it home in decent shape. I reuse them for gifts that I give. Most of my family members do the same thing, so they are not offended by my frugality. I also have a ton of baby shower gift bags, which I plan to use for my son's Christmas gifts! He is too young to know the difference between a Christmas pattern and a baby shower design, and will most likely be pleased to have something to rip into! As an added benefit, reusing the bags cuts down on waste and is better for the environment.

4. Pat

PatWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I keep the bags that are still in good condition folded into a box and use them as needed for other gifts. If I have more than enough bags I will donate them to the Goodwill store so that they can be used by someone else.