Why does my Wifi router take too long to get connected to the internet? Is it normal?

Discussion in Computers, Electronics & Gadgets started by deathbyprayer • Jan 17, 2015.

1. deathbyprayer

deathbyprayerActive Member

Threads:
    I just recently installed a wifi router on my new apartment and it's my first time actually having a router. Now I'm not sure if it's my ISP or the router itself but whenever I turn on the router, which is a Dlink 615 by the way, the damn thing takes about 5-8 minutes to get completely connected to the internet. The indicator would show a green light and then orange and it would just switch back and forth for 5 minutes, even longer sometimes, until I get a stable connection. Is it normal or should I get my router checked?

2. tournique

tourniqueActive Member

Threads:
    Get it check, also make sure you have the latest firmware installed on it. Do you connect instantly when using direct connection? (cable to pc) Could be an issue with the router firmware, try updating it or check to make sure your connection is not gated and it takes a while to connect without the router.

3. deathbyprayer

Threads:
    Yes! When I was using direct connection I get instant access to the internet. I'm not sure about the firmware though, I'd try to check it out once I got back home. In your case, does your router stall before you get connected?

4. thenextGeek

thenextGeekActive Member

Threads:
    It's normal. Make sure that you also turn on your modem first before turning on your wifi. I've been experiencing this problem for a long time now that's why I consider it normal already. I never bothered changing my wifi since my speed's fine, and an extre 5-8 minutes of waiting time won't kill me. If it's really bothering you, then you might wanna get your wifi checked. Good luck matey. :)

5. deathbyprayer

Threads: