working a part-time job for group health insurance

Discussion in Life & Health Insurance started by vagabondmom • Jun 28, 2012.

1. vagabondmom

vagabondmomNew Member

Threads:
    I haven't had health insurance in years. :( As a freelancer I make too much for any kind assistance, but some months are so tight that paying for my own policy is difficult. Yet I need flexible hours with my daughter and nephew at home. So I'm thinking about a part-time job just to get coverage.

I remember reading about Starbucks offering coverage to employees working just 20 hours a week. Are there any other retail or service companies that might be good for this?

2. Parker

ParkerWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I'm not completely sure, but I think Home Depot offers good benefits to part time employees. Starbucks definitely does. When I worked at a temp agency, I had insurance after so many hours worked. Temp agencies are starting to offer better perks, except for Kelly's Girls.

3. classicnyer

classicnyerActive Member

Threads:
    It's tough for freelancers, isn't it? I've been a freelancer for years, but I'm covered by my husband's insurance.

I'd be wary of getting a part time job just for the insurance, if only because freelancers tend to already work much harder than people give us credit for, and adding a job on top of that might be oppressive (or at least I would personally find it so.) In New York, they advertise a lot on the subways about something called the freelancer's union, in which basically a group of otherwise unrelated freelancers get together and support each other with the kind of benefits you'd get from a job. Maybe you should look into that?

4. Mrs. Rogers

Mrs. RogersActive Member

Threads:
    I actually checked into working for Starbucks just for the insurance. It seems like the rate was very expensive just for yourself. If anyone can elaborate on this I'd be interested to know if this isn't so.

5. dconklin

dconklinActive Member

Threads: