Would You Rather Have One Sport And Focus At It, Or More?

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by 003 • Mar 18, 2015.

1. 003

003Well-Known Member

Threads:
    I have been running for 6 years and swimming for a year. I enjoy both of them, but every time that I will spot a sport being played like say tennis, I simply feel like I want to try it, most sport actually. But because of time constraint, I guess I would really have to choose especially if I don't intend to make a living out of the skill I will gain from trying different sports. Since because they are just my hobby as I consider they are, I think I would rather stick to swimming and running, and if I have to give up again of the two, which would be really hard, I think I would rather give up them both.

2. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I can't see why you can't do them all? You choose to do them and tennis is also a social activity where running and swimming isn't. You should be doing them for fun as well as keeping fit and there is nothing to say you can't play a game of tennis once in a while.

3. hayrake

hayrakeActive Member

Threads:
    When it comes to sports, I'd say take on as many as you have time to enjoy. Unless you plan to really "go somewhere" with a particular sport. In that case you might want to narrow your interests and focus on the one.

Most of us, though, I'd say have no great talent anywhere in the sports field that we need to be developing. We do it for the pure enjoyment of the physical activity and simply to keep fit.

4. allswl

allswlActive Member

Threads:
    It all will depend on what your overall goal is. If you want to take part in competitive events then it may be best if you choose one and focus on it and do the other one as a way to aid in your overall training. If you goal is nothing of the sort then I think it is okay for you to try out as many sports you want to.

5. troutski

troutskiWell-Known Member

Threads: